top of page

May Day


May Day,

May pole.

I wish I may,

come what may--maybe. May I suggest:

Mayfly, Mayflower, Maybird, Mayberry, Mayhem. To whom it may concern:

Mayday! Mayday! Myday! (Help me!) celebrate.




Image: Birthday Cake, Lisa M. Careau


About this poem

Composed during the early days of the pandemic, "May Day" is part wishful thinking, part prayer, and part invite. It was just before my birthday, and social distancing was still very much evolving. I wasn't quite sure how, or even if the practice was universally embraced yet among my family and friends, as we tried to craft some sort of celebration. Turns out, I had a marvelous birthday: my friends and family arrived at our home in two-hour intervals to avoid crossing paths with each other. My guests parked outside my living room window where I sat and chatted with them through the screen, safely separated by the adjacent walkway. These "tailgate visits" went on throughout the day and into the early evening; each visit ended with the presentation of a little 5-inch birthday cake for my company to take home and enjoy. It was one of the best birthdays I've ever had!

bottom of page